澳世网络: 澳洲疫情下网上办公/在线教学的网络应对之策

近期疫情肆虐全球,影响了生活在澳大利亚的广大华人。联邦政府日前已下发紧急通知,各大学校也在为随时停课做准备。今天已有部分学校启用了网课平台,改为网络授课方式。同时,很多公司已采取在家线上办公的上班模式来对抗疫情。此时家庭网络的使用体验尤为总要。

 

与以往的电视教学不同,现在的在线教育都是交互式视频教育。同时,职员在家上班需实时共享文件和在线视频会议。要想获得良好的网络体验效果,用户需要选择20~50Mbps或以上的优质稳定网络带宽。

 

而在现有用户大量共享使用的场景下,运营商套餐和网络服务都面临不少挑战。面对在线教育和在家办公的高质量需求,用户该怎么选择宽带服务呢?

 

 

第一、选用合适的宽带套餐,别让家庭网络成网课/线上办公的瓶颈

 

同时大规模的网络授课和线上办公让网络持续处于高峰期,画面卡顿、音频不同步,甚至画面长时间缓冲等让人头痛的问题随之产生。

 

事实上,网课卡顿的问题很大程度上归因于家里的Wi-Fi网络。有数据表明:在线教育出现卡顿等体验差的问题,90%是因为家里的网络不稳定,10%归因于上行网络。

 

随着网络的发展,目前网课的视频播放方式已经从原来的点播课程转变为一对一和一对多的交互式直播授课。直播的网课对网络的要求大幅提升,每路从点播的2-10Mbit/s左右提升到20~50Mbit/s,并且要求上下行网络带宽都要达这么高,才能支撑交互式视频传输。

 

在上网课/线上办公的同时,家庭其他成员还有电视和上网的需求。2-3个成员的家庭总的宽带和Wi-Fi的速率需要在50Mbps以上,才能满足网课/线上办公及全家的网络需求。澳世网络 | OCCOM在部分地区已推出高达200Mbps的带宽套餐以保证充足的上行网络带宽从而满足网络用户对于高品质在线教育服务的需求。

 

因此,如客户家中需同时进行在线办公/直播上课和其他上网活动,建议选择澳世网络|OCCOM “飞速计划”–50Mbps或“极速计划”–100Mbps网络套餐来保证顺畅的网络体验。对网速有非常高要求的客人,也可以选择“火箭计划”–200Mbps套餐以满足个人的高品质需求。

 

 

第二、家庭网络质量差,影响网课/办公体验,因为这三大拦路虎”

 

在现实中,家庭用户要真正体验到100Mbps以上的宽带接入,还是会面临不少挑战。

 

一 网络类型对网速的影响

 

  • FTTP(光纤到户):线路最优质,一般情况可稳定达到接近100Mbp下行带宽,适合选用100Mbps或以上的计划;
  • HFC(光纤电缆混合技术): 光钎铺设到Cable分线器的地方,将光信号转换成Cable信号,100Mbps带宽的计划可稳定在90M-100M之间,也适合选用100Mbps计划;
  • FTTB, FTTN(光纤到节点): 将光纤铺设到一个分线点(大楼机房/街边节点/),然后通过设备将信号转换成VDSL。该线路模式下,100Mbps带宽的计划可稳定在50-70之间,建议选用50Mbps的计划;
  • FTTC: 更进一步的把光纤的节点移向用户这一端。把铜线(电话线)的长度减少到最短。100Mbps带宽的计划可稳定在90M-100M之间,可选用100Mbps的计划。
  • ADSL: 理论上来讲,选择任何公司跟速度都没有任何关系,真正影响其速度的是距离: 从你家到exchange的距离,距离太远的线路网速则无法满足网课的最低要求,建议选用大流量4G移动宽带网络;

 

澳世网络 | OCCOM的网络套餐覆盖澳大利亚98%以上的地区,支持所有的网络类型。在客户注册时将会根据客户地址所处的网络类型,给客户挑选最合适的网络套餐以及提供最专业的建议。

 

100M宽带没有100M体验,还在于终端设备的选用。

 

当前现网中仍然有大量的单频老旧光猫/路由器只支持Wi-Fi 802.11n低速技术,Wi-Fi近距离速率在90M以下,无法达到100M的套餐要求。现网很多低端光猫/路由器只支百兆口,无法适用200Mbps的网络计划。做一个简单的类比,带宽就如水管,网课信息就是管道中的水,就算你家接了一条粗大的数据“水管”,但你家的“水龙头”(Wi-Fi路由器),却依然是小口径,出水速度(下载速度)仍然会受限制,依然是涓涓细流,无法享受到粗水管带来的畅快。澳世网络 | OCCOM提供多款全面支持100Mbps以上光纤网络计划的高端Wi-Fi路由器产品,网络开通后客户无需再自行配置,收到设备后即可连接上网。

 

大部分家庭的Wi-Fi路由器和光猫之间连接的还是速率只能到100M的5类网线(Cat 5),如选用200M的计划,就必须更换为Cat5e或者Cat6类别的网线。澳世网络 | OCCOM给注册200M计划的客户免费提供Cat6类别的网线,保证客户的使用体验。

 

那么,用户在挑选家庭网络设备的时候需要注意什么呢?

 

无线信号干扰

手机上的Wi-Fi信号条是满格,实际的Wi-Fi信号可能也会非常缓慢,而包括手机、无绳电话、微波沪、蓝牙设备甚至是无线婴儿监控设备都有可能影响Wi-Fi的信号质量。

 

Wi-Fi信道

路由器通常可以使用上百个Wi-Fi信道,如果你身处一个网络信号充沛的地区,你的路由器还会持续查找最佳的网络信道,这同样也会产生网络延迟的现象。

 

路由器位置

无线路由器的摆放位置对于信号强度有着非常大的影响。比如,如果你将路由器放在一堵水泥墙边上的话,其信号强度将会大打折扣。

 

除了建议用户选用高速度的家庭宽带套餐,为了解决以上可能存在的内部线路问题,选择有全屋Wi-Fi覆盖能力,支持高端光纤计划的室内网络解决方案也尤为重要。

 

提升Wi-Fi上网速度的四条建议:

  1. 将自己的路由器设备升级到那种可以同时支持4GHz和5GHz频率的双频路由器。
  2. 通过信道查看器查到所在地区的Wi-Fi信道使用情况,然后选择较为畅通的信道使用。
  3. 如果你手头拥有一部闲置无线路由器的话,不妨考虑通过无线信号中继、或者放大的方式来加强室内的Wi-Fi信号强度。
  4. 如果你的路由器拥有高功率和低功率等不同电源使用方案可选的话,通常低功率的使用方案会拥有更好的Wi-Fi信号强度。

 

澳世网络| OCCOM针对不同的接入类型和客户的网络套餐,能提供最专业的建议和匹配客户上网类型的高质量设备。我们提供多款高品质的双频路由器,来增强Wifi性能,提升Wifi覆盖和防止网络堵塞。

 

如客户家中面积较大或层数较多,需要大面积的Wifi覆盖和稳定的Wifi上网。我们提供的AC1300 Mesh网状路由器即可满足以上要求: 采用先进的Wi-Fi标准,可实现无缝的Wi-Fi覆盖。

  • 每个Deco可协同工作,形成统一的Wi-Fi网路。无论您在家中以何种速度移动时,设备会自动在Deco之间切换连接。
  • 可提供高达510平米的Wi-Fi覆盖,快速稳定的连接,速度高达1267Mbps,可与任何服务供应商(ISP)的路由器配合使用。

用户可以通过对单个设备设置网络带宽占用优先级设置,,从而保证直播上课/线上办公时家中的网络带宽不受其他本地设备的影响。

 

三 网络运营商的服务质量

 

很多同学初到澳洲,对这里的宽带的开通流程,网络类型完全摸不清头脑,如何选择适合自己的网络套餐以及如何开通等问题也困扰了很多自己take房子的小伙伴,遇到口音浓重的客服,再加上自己本来就捉急的英文,由于无法和运营商客服流畅的沟通导致网络问题迟迟未能解决的情况时有发生。

 

澳世网络 | OCCOM 为客户提供便捷的国粤英客服热线,支持微信聊天,365天在线。为客户家中的网络服务排忧解难,得到了客户的一致好评,谷歌评分高达4.9/5。

 

在抗击疫情的关键时刻,澳世网络| OCCOM已经准备充足的带宽来应对需直播上课/在家办公的广大用户对于宽带网络的高质量需求。同时,针对用户不同的网络类型,我们有多套完善的网络方案来提升用户在家的宽带体验。在几乎全民在家上课/办公的时刻,选择更快的网络套餐(50Mbps或以上)和高品质的上网设备(如双频路由器和Mesh路由器)将能给您带来更优质的网络体验。想要有更快,更稳定,更有保障的宽带网络,澳世网络| OCCOM将是您在澳上网的不二之选。

OCCOM: Network Support Solution to Work from Home/Online Learning in the midst of COVID-19 Outbreak

The federal government has issued an emergency notice recently, and schools are preparing for closure at any time. Today, some schools have launched online learning platforms. Meanwhile, more and more employees in Australia are being encouraged or directed to work from home in the wake of the COVID-19 outbreak. Currently, Internet connection is extremely important.

 

Different from traditional TV learning, the current online learning platforms require an interactive video solution. At the same time, employees at home need to share files and have online video conferences in real time. To get a good Internet experience, users need to choose a high quality and stable network with 20-50Mbps or above.

 

In the scenario where many existing users are sharing and using, Internet plans and services are facing a lot of challenges. With the specific needs of online education and work from home, how should users choose a broadband service?

 

 

  1. Choose the right broadband plan and prevent the Internet from becoming the bottleneck.

 

Large number of live classes and online offices keep the network at its peak which may cause images got stuck, audio out of synchronization, and even long-time buffering.

 

In fact, the problem of lag internet when doing online learning is largely due to the Wi-Fi network at home. Data shown that 90% of the poor internet experience is due to the unstable network and 10% is due to the uplink speed.

 

With the development of the internet, currently, the video broadcast mode of online courses has changed from the original on-demand courses to one-to-one or one-to-many interactive live lectures. The requirement for live webcasts has greatly increased: each channel has increased from about 2-10Mbit/s on demand to 20-50 Mbit/s, and the upstream and downstream bandwidth must be enough to support interactive video transmission.

 

When people work from home or have online learning, other family members also need to access to video streaming and Internet at the same time. The total bandwidth demand should be above 50Mbps in order to meet the Internet requirements of online office/learning and the whole family. OCCOM has launched Internet plans up to 200Mbps in some regions to ensure sufficient downlink and uplink bandwidth, meeting the high demand for online activities.

 

Therefore, if clients need to carry out working from home/live class and other online activities at the same time, it is recommended to choose OCCOM “Boost Plus Plan” – 50Mbps or “Superfast Plan” – 100Mbps to ensure a smooth network experience. Customers with very high internet speed requirement can choose the “Rocket Plan” – 200Mbps.

 

 

  1. Poor Internet connection which affects the home office and live class experience is due to these factors.

 

  1. The impact of network type on Internet speed.

 

  • FTTP (Fibre to the Premises): This is the highest quality fiber and generally FTTP can reach a downlink speed close to 100Mbps, which is suitable for plans with 100Mbps or above;
  • HFC (Hybrid fibre-coaxial): The optical fibre is laid on the place of the cable splitter to convert the optical signal into a cable signal. The 100Mbps plan can be stabilized between 90-100M, and it is also suitable for the 100Mbps plan;
  • FTTB, FTTN (Fibre to the building, Fibre to the Node): Lay the fibre to a point (MDF/node), and then convert the signal to VDSL through the equipment. Under this mode, the plan of 100Mbps can be stabilized between 50-70Mbps, so the plan of 50Mbps is recommended;
  • FTTC: Move the node of the fibre to the user side even further. Minimize the length of copper wires (telephone line). The 100Mbps plan can be stable between 90M-100M, and the 100Mbps plan can be selected.
  • ADSL: In theory, the choice of any company has nothing to do with the speed. What really affects its speed is the distance: The distance from your home to the exchange. The speed of the line is too far away that cannot meet the minimum requirements of the online learning. It is recommended to use high data allowance 4G mobile broadband;

 

 

OCCOM’s Internet covers over  98% of Australia and supports all network types. Our staff will suggest the most suitable Internet plan during registration and will provide the most professional advice according to the type of network where the customer’s address is located.

 

 

  1. 100M broadband does not have a 100M experience, it relates to the selection of terminal device.

 

There is still a large number of single-band and old optical modems/routers in the current network that only support Wi-Fi 802.11n low speed technology. The Wi-Fi rate is below 90M and cannot reach 100M. Many low-end optical modems/routers on the existing network only support 100M ports, which is not applicable to 200Mbps network plans. To make a simple example, the bandwidth is like a water pipe and the online learning information is the water in the pipe. Even if your home is connected with large data “water pipe”, your home’s “water tap” – Wi-Fi router is still with a small diameter, the water output speed (download speed) will still be limited, and it will still be a trickle. You cannot enjoy the high-speed experience brought by that large data “water pipe”.

 

OCCOM provides a variety of high-end Wi-Fi routers that fully support fibre optic plans above 100Mbps. After the network is activated, customers do not need to configure it by themselves. They can plug in and use the internet right away after receiving the device.

 

In most homes, the connection between the Wi-Fi router and optical cable is Category 5 network cable (Cat5) with a speed of only 100M. if you choose a 200M plan, you must replace it with a Cat5e or Cat6 category network cable.

 

OCCOM provides a free Cat5e cable for customers who registered for 200Mbps plan to ensure a great customer experience.

 

 

So, which factors should we consider when choosing the router?

 

Wireless signal interference

Even though the Wi-Fi signal bar on the mobile phone is full, the actual Wi-Fi transmission may also be very slow. Mobile phones, cordless phones, microwaves, Bluetooth devices and even a wireless baby monitoring device may affect Wi-Fi’s signal quality.

 

Wi-Fi Channel

The router can usually use hundreds of Wi-Fi channels. If you are in an area with abundant network signals, your router will continue to find the best network channel, which will also cause network delay.

 

Router location

The placement of wireless router has a great impact on the signal strength. For example., if you place the router next to a concrete wall, its signal strength will be greatly reduced.

 

In addition to suggesting that users choose high-speed broadband plans, in order to solve the above-mentioned possible internal circuit problems, it is particularly important to choose indoor network solutions that have Wi-Fi coverage capabilities throughout the house and support high-end fibre plans.

 

Four suggestions for improving Wi-Fi internet speed:

  1. Upgrade your router to a dual-band router that can support both 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequencies.
  2. Check the Wi-Fi channel usage in your area through the channel viewer, and then select a more unobstructed channel to use.
  3. If you have a spare wireless router, you may consider using wireless signal relay or amplification to strengthen the indoor Wi-Fi signal.

 

OCCOM provides the most professional advice and high-quality equipment to match customers’ internet access type and Internet plans. We provide multiple high-quality dual-band routers to enhance Wi-Fi performance, improve Wi-Fi coverage and prevent network congestion.

 

If the client’s home has a large area or multi floors, wider Wi-Fi coverage and more stable Wi-Fi are required. Our AC1300 Mesh router can meet the above requirements, which adopts advanced Wi-Fi standards to achieve seamless Wi-Fi coverage.

 

  • Each Deco can work together to form a unified Wi-Fi network. No matter what speed you move at home, the device will automatically switch connections between Decos.
  • Provide Wi-Fi coverage up to 520 square meters, fast and stable connection, speed up to 1267Mbps, can be used with any Internet Service Provider (ISP) router. Users can set the network bandwidth priority for a specific device, thereby ensuring that the network bandwidth at home during online learning/work from home is not affected by other local devices.

 

  1. Service quality of Internet Service Provides

 

Many people are confused about broadband activation process and network type when newly arriving in Australia. How to choose a suitable Internet plans? How to register the service? These questions have troubled those people who have taken a house. Thus, lots of the network problems are not resolved due to poor communication.

 

OCCOM provides a convenient customer service hotline, Facebook messenger support, 365 days online. With timely troubleshooting and excellent service, OCCOM has gained 4.9/5 in Google Reviews, the highest score among all Australian ISPs.

 

 

At this critical moment, to fight against COVID-19, OCCOM has prepared sufficient bandwidth to meet the high demand of broadband users who need to broadcast online learning/work from home. At the same time, for different network types of users, we have multiple sets of comprehensive network solutions to improve users’ broadband experience at home. Choosing a faster Internet Plan (50Mbps or above) and high-quality internet access devices (such as dual-band routers and mesh routers) will bring you a better network experience when everyone is staying at home. For a faster, more stable, and more secure broadband network, OCCOM will be your best choice in Australia.